Frequent question: What are the categories of students with disabilities?

What are the categories of special education?

In order to qualify for special education, the IEP team must determine that a child has one of the following:

  • Autism.
  • Blindness.
  • Deafness.
  • Emotional Disturbance.
  • Hearing Impairment.
  • Intellectual Disability.
  • Multiple Disabilities.
  • Orthopedic Impairment.

What are the 11 disabilities?

autism; • deaf-blindness; • deafness; • emotional disturbance; • hearing impairment; • intellectual disability; • multiple disabilities; • orthopedic impairment; • other health impairment; • specific learning disability; • speech or language impairment; • traumatic brain injury; or • visual impairment (including …

What are the six categories of special education?

It is also known as special needs education, aided education, vocational education, and limb care authority education. Common special needs include learning disabilities, communication disorders, emotional and behavioral disorders, physical disabilities, and developmental disabilities.

What is the most common type of special needs?

Some of the most common special needs that young children are diagnosed with are: speech and/or language delays, Autism Spectrum Disorder, cognitive delays, social and emotional disorders, and learning differences/disabilities.

What are the type of special need?

There are four major types of special needs children: Physical – muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, chronic asthma, epilepsy, etc. Developmental – down syndrome, autism, dyslexia, processing disorders. Behavioral/Emotional – ADD, bi-polar, oppositional defiance disorder, etc.

IT\'S INTERESTING:  What SAT score do you need for UF?

What is disability category?

Multiple Disability – A combination of two or more disabilities as defined in clause (i) of section 2 of the Person with disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation)Act 1995 namely Blindness/low vision Speech and Hearing Impairement Locomotor disability including leprosy cured Mental …

What illnesses are classified as disabilities?

senses and speech issues, such as vision and hearing loss. respiratory illnesses, such as COPD or asthma. neurological disorders, such as MS, cerebral palsy, Parkinson’s disease, or epilepsy. mental disorders, such as depression, anxiety, autism, or intellectual disorder.

What are the 14 categories of characteristics of learners?

These are federal terms and definitions.

  • Autism. …
  • Deaf-Blindness. …
  • Deafness. …
  • Developmental Delay. …
  • Emotional Disturbance. …
  • Hearing Impairment. …
  • Intellectual Disability (formerly known as Mental Retardation) …
  • Multiple Disabilities.

What are 4 hidden disabilities?

Here are some severe or chronic “hidden” disabilities that might show no signs on the outside.

  • Mental Health Conditions. …
  • Autoimmune Diseases. …
  • Chronic Pain and Fatigue Disorders. …
  • Neurological Disorders.